Get a quote

Kirkby Lonsdale Coach Hire Ltd

Established in 1991

Average rating:


(4.82 out of 5 from 136 reviews)

Read Reviews

(127)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(5)

Customer Reviews

Average rating:


(4.82 out of 5 from 5 reviews)

Show all reviews

Showing reviews 1 to 5 of 5

(1/5)

More than a year ago

"Boarded a bus at Skipton the other week, bus driver had a radio on . Very irritating, luckily was only going 3 stops and pleased not to be going all the way to Settle with this racket. However, today came from the 1.30 pm from Settle to Skipton with another driver with his radio going, making the journey through lovely scenery but ruined with the radio. Is this now policy of the Settle bus to impose the drivers noise on passengers. Apart from the cold draughty, rattling contraption which is of course, no fault of the drivers we had a thoroughly miserable journey and will not feel we can use the Settle bus again. Tried to email but to no avail.."

Would they recommend: No

Operator replied on 15th October 2019, 9:54am:
"Dear Mr & Mrs. Kember, Thank you for your review, I have checked all my emails and there doesn't seem to be one from yourselves, only this review. It is not our policy to have music playing on our buses and I will get a message out to my drivers to desist. I am also mystified that you say the bus was cold, draughty and rattling, I drove the 7 year old bus last week and it was warm, comfortable and drove superbly. It has just had new seats with seat belts fitted. I will go out again this afternoon to see if there is a problem with that bus that has manifested itself since I drove it last week and you experienced yesterday. I'd like to think that of the fleet we operate on the 580/581/582 services, the oldest is 10 years old and most are younger than that. I appreciate your efforts to bring this to my attention and I will endevour to stop the music and I will be checking our bus this afternoon to see the faults that you describe. Kindest regards Matthew Sutton Director Kirkby Lonsdale Coach Hire Ltd"


(1/5)

More than a year ago

"The driver (Peter) needs a new SatNav. The trip to Beninborough Hall on Thursday 5th September was a nightmare. We were away over 11 hours and had approximately 3 hours at our destination."

Would they recommend: No

Operator replied on 9th September 2019, 12:02pm:
"Dear CR, Thank you for your comments. I have spoken to the organiser and we are both quite surprised at your comments. It was always our estimate that it would take 3.5 hours out and 3 hours on the return to and from Beninbrough Hall, York including pickups and the coffee stop that the group had requested. It looks like you left Beninbrough Hall 30 minutes earlier than we expected but in my opinion the driver went by the fastest routes available. I'm sorry that you felt you had a poor trip. If you wish to chat to me about this, please give me a ring on 01524 733831. Kind regards Matthew Sutton Director"


(1/5)

More than a year ago

"Whilst traveling in my car down Head Dyke Lane (A588), towards Stake Pool, this evening in my car I was met with the number 89 bus who was waiting to turn down Carr Lane. As I drove closer towards the bus it began to turn into the junction across into my lane and my right of way. The bus made no effort to stop turning even though it was obvious I did not have enough time to stop. I then had no choice but to make a dangerous manoeuvre as I had to drive in the wrong side of the road to pass the turning vehicle, which put not only my life at risk but other drivers too. I would appreciate if I was contacted by the company to give me chance to go into more detail about the incident and to ensure the drive is given the proper disciplinary for wreck-less driving."

Would they recommend: No

(1/5)

More than a year ago

"I need to travel between Skipton and Settle this week due to transport being in the garage, so today I asked the driver if a weekly ticket is available and was told no, very firmly. Instead I had to pay £9 for a return!!! Seriously, £9 per return is daylight robbery. Your thoughts and why you don't do a weekly ticket would be interesting!!"

Would they recommend: No

(1/5)

More than a year ago

"My daughter travels to and from school via a Kirkby Lonsdale bus.. no.51 however I was disgusted to hear that on her way to school on Wednesday the 14th of June, there was fungi growing out of the back of one of the back seats as all down the back of it was mouldy. Also I am concerned about how the seats are matted in dust and that the bus does not always get cleaned. I demand an explanation in this facility as it's unsafe for the 20 odd kids traveling via this bus"

Would they recommend: No

Operator replied on 19th June 2017, 10:46am:
"Dear Leonie, Thank you for your message. I am very surprised at your report into the cleanliness of our 51 bus service vehicle. The vehicle is washed and cleaned inside and out every evening when it finishes its route. I am having the vehicle brought in now (Monday) and examined for the mould that you are referring to. If I can report back later when I have seen the vehicle, I hope that is acceptable for the moment. Kind regards Matthew Sutton Director Kirkby Lonsdale Coach Hire Ltd --- Further reply --- Dear Leonie, I removed the bus from service this lunchtime as I mentioned in my previous reply, as I take complaints about safety and cleanliness very seriously. I have searched the bus for signs of fungi and mould and I cannot find any trace on any of the seats, sides, floor or anywhere in the bus. If you could let me know exactly where this particular seat was that your daughter was sat, I can again check. The back of all the seats in this particular bus are plastic covered with no material on any of the rears of the seats. All the seats are in good condition and the vehicle was clean and tidy, even after spending all morning on the road today. I have 2 cleaners on who work Monday thru Saturday in the evenings, who prepare my buses and coaches for the day ahead and they do a very good job of it."


Get a Quote

For Operators

Login
Register
Operator Terms

For Developers

API Reference

Partners

Proud sponsors of Derby County Ladies

Company Information

3 Church View Close
Shirland
Derbyshire, DE55 6BZ
United Kingdom

Company Registered in England No: 12066038
VAT Registration No: 184097777

info@trustedtravelreviews.co.uk